Recovery Yoga

The other night I glanced at my yoga studio’s class schedule and decide to go to a restorative yoga class. I walked into the studio, rolled out my mat, took a few deep breaths, did some little stretches and prepared my mind to get into “yoga mode”.

The instructor started class by inviting us to form a circle at the front of the room. She noticed I was new to the class, introduced herself and asked if she could give me a hug. It was such a welcoming gesture, I was so happy I had decided to come to this class.

After a little greeting, we settled into our mats and the instructor began to explain the purpose behind this Recovery Yoga session. This is when I realized that I had mistaken “Recovery” as “Restorative” when I was looking at my class schedule. This class, I learned, was for anyone struggling with addiction, overcoming addiction, or anywhere in-between. The instructor invited each of us to introduce ourselves and give a little “Where we are right now” and what we want to breathe in and what we want to breathe out during class.

As everyone began to share, and open up about themselves, I immediately felt like I had intruded on their space. Here I was, looking for a yoga class that fit into my schedule and stumbled into this place of vulnerability and healing.  I was frantically deciding what I should say, if I should leave, wondering if I was even welcome here. I didn’t want to be self-righteous and say “I’m Meghan and I have no addiction, just here to do some yoga poses!” Should I slowly sneak out so I don’t infringe on their class?

As the others spoke I began to feel the positivity, support and compassion in the room. I was the only one being unwelcoming towards myself in this place. I decided I should stay. I felt I was drawn to this space for a reason and I could humble myself and learn as well. Maybe I’m not battling something as strong as an addiction, but I can am seeking to improve myself.

When my turn came around, I was honest and told them I had just stumbled upon this class and thanked them for welcoming me into this space full of such positivity and allowing me to share this time with them.

As we flowed through the 12 steps of recovery represented through various asanas (yoga poses) and flows, I felt the energy I needed and that I was seeking in coming to the studio. I let go of thins I was holding onto that no longer served me and welcomed openness into where I needed it.

Each of us were leaving our mistakes of the past, worries for the future, and being present in a space of positivity and support. Even though I am not fighting the battle of addiction, I felt the power of this space.


I thought this experience was so incredible I had to share it with all of you, and want you to remember that we can all find ways to welcome healing into whatever aspects of our lives need it. And if you are recovering from an addiction or trauma in your life, there are places to find what you need to be supported on your journey. Here is some additional information about Recovery Yoga, if that speaks to you.


Show kindness, create positivity and spread happiness this week. ❤

Namaste,

Meghan

One thought on “Recovery Yoga

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

